Service Area

The Des Moines Metropolitan Wastewater Reclamation Authority (WRA) is a regional two-tier utility which joins 18 member communities for the purpose of wastewater conveyance and treatment. The following communities constitute the service area of the WRA:

  • Ankeny
  • Altoona
  • Bondurant
  • Clive
  • Cumming
  • Des Moines
  • Greenfield Plaza Sanitary Sewer District
  • Grimes
  • Johnston
  • Norwalk
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Polk City
  • Polk County
  • Urbandale Sanitary Sewer District
  • Urbandale-Windsor Heights Sanitary Sewer District
  • Warren County
  • Waukee 
  • West Des Moines

The WRA was established on July 1, 2004 and is managed by a WRA Director and governed by the WRA Board, consisting of 22 appointed members from the 18 constituent communities. The WRA has an annual budget of approximately $34 million funded through sewer fees paid by member communities.

WRA Service Area Map